Chandrababu Naidu invites KCR for swearing-in


Chandrababu Naidu on Monday invited 11 Chief Ministers, including new Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao to attend his oath-taking ceremony on June 8 at Guntur near Nagarjuna University.

Mr Naidu on Monday called up Mr Rao and congratulated him for taking charge as the first Chief Minister of Telangana. He wished that Telangana would develop under the leadership of Mr Rao and said, “I feel this is the first step for working together”.

After the TRS came to power in Telangana and the TD in Andhra Pradesh in the recent Assembly elections, Mr Naidu and Mr Rao had not wished each other directly. Mr Rao also did not invite Mr Naidu for his swearing-in ceremony that was held on Monday at Raj Bhavan.

However, after Mr Rao took charge as the CM of Telangana, Mr Naidu called him up over phone and congratulated him and invited him for his swearing-in ceremony.

The TD sources said that Mr Naidu would also invite YSRC chief and leader of the Opposition in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly, Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, and other state leaders too. He has also invited Union ministers and other national leaders.

Mr Naidu has also written personally to the chief ministers of Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Goa, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Nagaland and others.

On Monday, Mr Naidu addressed TD leaders and workers at the party office, NTR Bhavan, after unfurling the national flag to mark the Telangana state formation and said that the two states had separated as brothers but the people would remain one.

The TD supremo said that the governments of both states should work for the development and welfare of the people.