& News Govt jobs

CM gives notice for sending back Telangana bill to president

CM gives notice for sending back Telangana bill
CM gives notice for sending back Telangana bill

Hyderabad: Raking up a new controversy over the draft T Bill, Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Saturday sent a notice to the Speaker N Manohar under Rule 77 asking him to permit him to move an official resolution rejecting the AP Reorganisation Bill 2013. Similarly, in the Legislative Council, the Leader of the House C Ramachandraiah submitted the notice to the Chairman A Chakrapani.

The notice that was given to the Speaker by the Minister for Legislative Affairs S Sailajanath, which read: “The House while rejecting the AP Reorganisation Bill, 2013, resolves to request the president not to recommend the Bill to be introduced in Parliament as bill seeks to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh without any reason or basis”. Speaking on the Bill, Kiran asserted that that the bill could not be discussed in the present form. “The Bill does not contain the aims ‘objects and reasons’ or the financial memorandum. It has not been specified in the Bill why the Centre is seeking to divide the state and hence it should be rejected by the Assembly and sent back,” he said. Soon after this, the Seemandhra MLAs led by D Narendra Kumar also met the Speaker and gave another set of notices seeking permission to move a similar resolution.  In a counter move, the T MLAs cutting across all parties met Speaker and told him that the Assembly cannot move any such resolution.

Minister for Panchayat Raj K Jana Reddy wondered how the Chief Minister could submit such a notice to the Speaker in the capacity of the leader of the House without taking either the consent of the Telangana members or the State Cabinet. He is understood to have decided to write a letter to the Governor and is also to go to Delhi to register his protest against the attitude of Kiran with the high command.

TRS Legislature Party leader E Rajender, MLA’s KT Rama Rao and P Srinivasa Reddy along with government chief whip G Venkataramana Reddy met the Speaker and demanded that he reject the notice given by the Chief Minister. BJP MLA Nagam Janardhan Reddy and Congress member P Shankar Rao too called on the Speaker and asked him to reject it.

Comments are closed.