First Chief Minister of Telangana State


The Telangana State hood Movement leader K. Chandrasekhar Rao, was sworn as First Chief Minister of Telangana state. Mr. Rao’s son K. Taraka Rama Rao and nephew T. Harish Rao, who took active part in the agitation, were among the 11 Cabinet Ministers sworn in at a simple ceremony, punctuated by slogans of ‘Jai Telangana’ at Rajbhavan, Hyderabad.

The ceremony got under way at 8.15 a.m. before a large gathering that included politicians, High Court judges and senior bureaucrats.

Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T. Rajaiah, Naini Narasimha Reddy, Eatala Rajender, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, T. Padma Rao, P. Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G. Jagadeeshwar Reddy are the other Cabinet Ministers.

Mr. Ali and Mr. Rajaiah were later named Deputy Chief Ministers. Barring Mr. Ali, who opted for Urdu, all the others took oath in Telugu.

Mr. Rao sent the list of Ministers in a sealed cover to Raj Bhavan on Sunday night.

Also Read: Telangana state Movement History

Also Read: Telangana state Profile