Telangana State Info

Mahboobnagar District

mahaboobnagar_districtMahboobnagar district also known as Palamooru is the biggest town in the Mahbubnagar District of Telangana, India, 100 km from the state capital, Hyderabad. The district has a population of 3,513,934 of which 10.57% is urban as of 2001.

The largest towns in the district are Mahbubnagar, Narayanpet, Atmakur, Achampet, Gadwal, Wanaparthy, Jadcherla, Kalwakurthy, Shadnagar, Kodangal, Amarchintha, Makhtal, Alampur, Kollapur and Nagarkurnool.


Formerly known as Rukmammapeta and Palamooru, it was named Mahbubnagar on 4 December 1890 in honour of Mir Mahabub Ali Khan, Asaf Jah VI, the Nizam of Hyderabad (1869-1911 AD). It has been the capital of the district since 1883 AD. Mahbubnagar is bordered by the Tungabhadra River in the south and surrounded by the Nalgonda, Hyderabad, Kurnool, Raichur, Yadgir and Gulbarga districts. The Golconda diamonds, including the famous Kohinoor diamond allegedly came from Mahbubnagar district.

Mahboob nagar Tourist attractions

The major places of tourist’s interest are Mahaboobnagar, Wanaparthy palace, Kollapur palace, Gadwal, Bichupally, Manyamkonda, Shaneswaralayam, Mallela Theertham, and Alampur.

Pillalamrri Mahboob nagar District

The most interesting place to see in Mahabubnagar is the famous banyan tree called Pillalamrri, which is about 4 km from the town. There is a tomb of a Muslim saint under the tree.

The tree presents the appearance of a small hillock with green foliage from a distance but on reaching closer, it looks like a large green umbrella under which about thousand people can easily take shelter.

It is 700 year old banyan tree and its branches extend over an area of 3 acres. In Telugu, “Pillalu” means children & “marri” means a banyan tree. There is also an aquarium, a small zoo and an archaeological museum here


Umamaheswaram is located at a distance of 150 KM from Hyderabad and close by Achampet in Mahabubnagar District. Umamaheswaram temple is situated on very tall hills of Nallamala forests and dates back to 2nd century A.D. To reach the temple, one has to ride on very steep and dangerous curves of 5 mile length from the bottom of the hill.

It is well known as North Entrance to Srisailam (Jyotirlingam) . Umamaheswaram temple is in deep Nallamalai forests and located in vast range of Scenic mountains.

Srirangapur is situated at a distance of 12 km from Wanaparthy, which is 100 km from Mahabubnagar. Here you find a Sri Ranganayakaswamy temple built during the 18th century A.D. his town is situated 120 km from Mahabubnagar and 10 km from the Kollapuri Someswara Swamy temple.

There are 15 temples, all housing Shivalingas where Shivarathri & Karthika Pournami are celebrated with much fervour.The Madhava Swamy temple at Kollapur was originally built by the 16th century A.D., on the left bank of river Krishna, at Manchalakatta. The architecture of the temple is exceedingly beautiful. All around the temple walls , the beautifully carved sculptures depict the 24 aspects of Vishnu and Dasavathars of Vishnu. Various pillars supporting the mandapa, the Garudalaya.


In Koilsagar Irrigation Project constructed to irrigate an ayacut of 12000Acres, in Mahaboobnagar district, ayacut has not fully developed.

It is now proposed to lift water from fore shore of Jurala Project in two stages to a total lift of 120m with 4 Nos. of Pumps of 10,000 HPreach and to fill up the Koilsagar Project to stabilize the ayacut of 12000 Acres including a gap ayacut of 7500 Acres and to irrigate an additional 38250 Acres bringing the total to 50,250 Acres under the project at a quoted value of Rs.360.20 crores.

The Joorala Project (also called the Jurala or Priyadarshini Jurala Project) is situated about 10 km from Kuravapur, Mahabubnagar. It is constructed on the Krishna river.

There are 57 Mandal’s in Mahaboob Nagar District.


  • Addakal
  • Alampur
  • Amangal
  • Amrabad
  • Atmakur
  • Balanagar
  • Balmoor
  • Bhoothpur
  • Bijinapalle
  • Bomraspeta
  • Chinna Chintakunta
  • Damaragidda
  • Devarakadra
  • Dhanwada
  • Doulatabad
  • Farooqnagar
  • Gadwal
  • Ghanpur
  • Ghattu
  • Gopalpeta
  • Hanwada
  • Ieeja
  • Itikyal
  • Jadcherla
  • Kalwakurthy
  • Keshampeta
  • Kodair
  • Kodangal
  • Koilkonda
  • Kollapur



  • Kondurg
  • Kosgi
  • Kothakota
  • Kothur
  • Lingal
  • Maddur
  • Madgul
  • Maganoor
  • Makhtal
  • Maldakal
  • Manopadu
  • Midjil
  • Nagarkurnool
  • Narayanpet
  • Narva
  • Nawabpet
  • Pebbair
  • Pedda Kothapalle
  • Peddamandadi
  • Talakondapalle
  • Telkapalle
  • Thimmajipeta
  • Uppunuthala
  • Utkoor
  • Vangoor
  • Veepangandla
  • Veldanda
  • Waddepally
  • Wanaparthy


For More Information Click here

Subscribe to our Latest Updates
Subscribe to our Latest Updates
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like