TS govt recommended PV name to Bharat Ratna


In tune with the promise the TS Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao made to the people on the day of former Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao’s 93rd birth anniversary on June 28, the TRS government has recommended his name for the prestigious Bharat Ratna award, which is the highest civilian award in the country.

The five-member Padma Awards committee constituted by Telangana government to recommend names for these prestigious awards (to be presented on Republic Day) met under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary Dr Rajiv Sharma here on Wednesday evening.

The committee discussed 37 proposals received thus far for Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan awards. It is learnt that the committee decided to forward the list to Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao for his final approval after which the list would be forwarded to the Central Government.

Sources informed that the committee discussed at length modalities for P V Narasimha Rao Memorial Award which would be presented by the Telangana Government to distinguished personalities and achievers from the state.