& News Govt jobs

UGC Releases Fake Universities List 2015

The UGC (University Grants Commission) has Released Fake Universities list 2015, The list of bogus varsities includes 8 in UP, 6 in Delhi and one each in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar and WB

What is the issue?

Section 22 of the UGC Act of 1956 makes authorizes only a University established by a Central/State act or an institution deemed to be university under Section 3 of the UGC act or an institution empowered by an act of parliament, to grant degrees.

Section 23 of the said act also prohibits the use of word ‘University’ by any institution other than a university established as per the above mentioned norms. The UGC has identified 21 such institutions that are unrecognized. It has warned the public that these are fake universities and are not entitled to grant any degree.

UGC Releases Fake Universities List

Below is the complete list of the 21 identified universities.

S No Name of the Fake University State
1 Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga Bihar
2 Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya Delhi
3 Commercial University Ltd, Daryaganj Delhi
4 United Nations University Delhi
5 Vocational University Delhi
6 ADR Centric Judicial University, Rajendra Place Delhi
7 Indian Institution of Science & Engineering Delhi
8 Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University, Belgaum Karnataka
9 St. John’s University, Kishanattam Kerala
10 Keserwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh
11 Raja Arabic University, Nagpur Maharashtra
12 DDB Sanskrit University, Trichi Tamil Nadu
13 Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata West Bengal
14 Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, Allahabad Uttar Pradesh
15 Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad Uttar Pradesh
16 National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur Uttar Pradesh
17 Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Open University, Aligarh Uttar Pradesh
18 Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura Uttar Pradesh
19 Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh Uttar Pradesh
20 Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida Uttar Pradesh
21 Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura Uttar Pradesh

The notice also says the matter of Bharatiya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh is subjudice.

Comments are closed.